Swiper Use

I am thinking of purchasing a resin tray swiper. I have never used one before. What are the advantages of using it? The webpage mentions it is convenient for 3rd party resin prints. Would it be helpful when printing the more viscous Formlabs resin?

Just bought one myself and I am waiting for it to arrive. Since I am experimenting with Formlabs at the moment, I’ll keep you posted.

I know a few of the users here have them and the only issue I have heard about is setup and tray removal takes longer.

Alright, thank you! I tried printing yesterday a mixture of Formlabs’ clear and flexible (the flexible one only seems too weak for what I am making) but unfortunately the parts fell from the build platform into the resin tray at some point around halfway. I was hoping the swiper would maybe help me solve that issue.

If model detaches from the platform the swiper won’t help you.

It will help you with not damaging your tray when a print fails. Cured on PDMS get exposed again and again and cause it to swell and distort. It will also help with getting a better part if supports are inadequate.

It might also help by displacing resin, hence reduce deflection.

One disadvantage is that it displaces resin so you might want to allow a bit longer wait times for re-flow to occur. viscous resins should be more susceptible to that. On the other hand, there is a lot of resin dripping from top so it might not be an issue.

Thanks Yianni! I would also add that if your model detaches from the platform, the resin is probably not getting enough light, so you should increase your exposure time, increase your LED current, or use a new tray. (This is assuming you’re not printing a geometry that would detach due to mechanical forces, such as a long, thin rod or extremely thin walls, etc.)