Playing with different support settings

I am new to the Ember, and right now I am printing some test cubes to assess the accuracy of the machine. I first printed a 0.5 in cube using the automatic supports. The issue with that is that the bottom surface connected to the supports ended up somewhat concave up and not perfectly straight, so I wanted to test if the printer could do better/

So I went ahead and tilted my cube in the X and Y directions 45 degrees, hoping that this would fix my issue. I made my own supports, which I wasn’t sure would work due to my lack of experience. A picture is attached showing what my print looked like. Unfortunately, the print turned out very bad: the supports did not adhere well to the cube and the cube did not have any straight faces. I am concerned I didn’t add enough supports. Or maybe the orientation is not great for the Ember to handle. I am looking for some advice on how to find best print orientation and supports, and how to make good manual supports in case I need to.

Thanks in advance!

Has anyone been having constant problems with support attachment points with print studio

Making good manual supports in Print Studio is kind of hard. Is there a reason you didn’t use the automatic supports when you rotated the cube 45 degrees in X and Y?

More importantly, when printing geometries like cubes that are self-supporting, it’s easiest to not use any supports and just lay it flat on the build surface.

Thanks Owen! I didn’t use automatic supports because print studio just created 1 support in the tip of the base and that was obviously not good enough! I didn’t do the no-support yet option because I was scared of the cube not being able to come out easily or me scratching the piece when I try to remove it from the platform. But trying that seems like the next logical step. Thanks!